Academic achievements

Expert Panel Work

  • Member of the Nano-Information Commission (NIK), Österreichisches Bundesministerium für Soziales, Gesundheit, Pflege, Konsumentenschutz


Editorial and Reviewer Activities

  • Editorial Board Member of Allergy – European Journal of Allergy and Clinical Immunology (impact factor 13.15)
  • Referee for the international scientific journals: ACS Nano (IF=13.9), Particle and Fibre Toxicology (IF=9.2), NanoScale (IF=7.8), Environmental Science:Nano (IF=7.2), Allergy (IF=13.15), J Controlled Release (IF=7.9), Nanotoxicology (IF=6.0), Molecular Medicine (IF=5.9), Frontiers in Immunology (IF=5.7), Nanomedicine: Nanotechnology, Biology, and Medicine (IF=5.7), Nutrients (IF= 4.2), Nanomedicine – Future Medicine (IF= 4.8), J. Nanobiotechnology (IF=5.3), Nanomaterials (IF= 4,4), Molecular Nutrition and Food Research (IF=4.4), Nature Scientific Reports (IF=4.1), Chemical research in Toxicology (IF=3.3),  RSC Advances (IF=3.1), Cancer Medicine (IF=2.5), Tumor Biology (IF=3.6), Molecular Immunology (IF=3.2), Journal of Virological Methods (IF=2.1), Journal of Agricultural and Food Chemistry (IF=3.2), World Allergy Journal (IF=3.7), International Archives of Allergy and Immunology (IF=2.5), J. Nanopart. Res. (IF=2.1), Langmuir (IF=4.0), Ital. J. Pediatrics (IF=1.7), SynLett (IF=2.3)
  • Referee for the UK Medical Research Council (MRC), the Paracelsus Medical University Research Fund (PMU), and for Scientific & Technological Cooperation (WTZ) project grants of the OeAD – BMWFW


Prizes and Awards

  • Sep 2023    Kurt Zopf Preis 2022 for the most outstanding publication in 2019 – 2021 at the PLUS in the fields of medicine, natural and technical sciences. More information here.


  • Feb 2022    Outstanding Reviewer 2021 Award by Environmental Sciences: Nano, Royal Society of Chemistry. Full list  here. outstanding ESN reviewer


Outstanding reviewer 2021 Certificate by RSC


  • May 2012     Award of the Membership of Honor of the Cuban Immunological Society
  • Sep 2005    VWR-ÖGBM Prize 2005
  • Mar 2003    Mortimer Sackler Award 2002