The department is structured into 8 divisions. Several groups formerly located in other organisational units have been integrated into the department as new divisions, like the „Software Systems Center“ and the „Center for Human-Computer Interaction“. The „Center for High Performance Computing“, also organised as a division, has been established as a service center for the entire university, providing hardware resources and technical assistance for scientic computing applications.