What is CIVIS?

CIVIS is a European Civic University formed by the alliance of 11 leading research higher education institutions across Europe: Aix-Marseille Université (UAM), National and Kapodistrian University of Athens (NKUA), University of Bucharest (UB), Université Libre de Bruxelles (ULB), Universidad Autónoma de Madrid (UAM), Sapienza Università di Roma (SUR), Stockholm University (SU), Eberhard Karls Universität Tübingen (UT), University of Glasgow (UoG), the Paris Lodron University of Salzburg (PLUS) and Université de Lausanne (UNIL).

It brings together a community of more than 470,000 students and 58,000 staff members including 35,000 academics and researchers.

The Mediterranean zone and Africa is at the heart of CIVIS’ global strategy. We firmly believe that the future of Europe and that of Africa are intertwined. On 11 March 2022, CIVIS and its member universities signed an ambitious partnership agreement with six prestigious African universities: Makerere University (MAK), Universidade Eduardo Mondlane (UEM), Hassan II University of Casablanca (UH2C ), University of Sfax (USF), Université Cheikh Anta Diop de Dakar,  University of the Witwatersrand, Johannesburg (WITS).

What is the mission of CIVIS?

CIVIS aims to create a truly unique European interuniversity campus where students, academics, researchers and staff will move and collaborate as freely as within their institution of origin. We will develop a deep level of European integration, involving joint learning pathways, development of complementary research facilities and diverse degree pathways.

For further information about CIVIS click HERE.

CIVIS | 2024 | 11 partners


Paris Lodron University of Salzburg | Office of the Rector

Sigmund Haffner Gasse 18/I | 5020 Salzburg | Austria

Tel: +43 662 8044 2408

Email to CIVIS Team

Image: © CIVIS