University Management

The university management is composed of the University Council, the Rectorate and the Senate.

Eingang Rektorat

The University Council

The University Council (see § 21 UG 2002) – as the supervisory board of the university – has, inter alia, the task of electing a Rector and approving the draft service agreement between the university and the ministry. It also chooses the Vice Rectors at the suggestion of the Rector. In addition, the University Council approves the university’s development and organizational plan. The functional period lasts five years. The University Council of the Paris Lodron University of Salzburg has seven members.

The Rectorate

The four-member Rectorate is responsible for the management of the University, heads the University and represents it externally (see. § 22 UG 2002). The term of the acting Rectorate is four years.

In addition to the tasks of being a member of the collegial body, the Rector must perform his own duties as a monocratic body (see § 23 UG 2002).

The Senate

The Senate of the PLUS has 26 members: thirteen professors, six representatives of mid-level teaching staff, a representative of the general staff, and six students. The primary tasks of the Senate include approving amendments of the University Statute and Development and Organisation Plan; shortlisting three candidates for the election of the University’s Rector and participating in the appointment procedures for Associate and University Professors (see § 25 UG 2002). The term of office is three years.

Photograph: ©️ Kay Müller (Photo), Miam Miam (Editing)