EUROPEAN UNION STUDIES MA


Apply now
Course Duration / ECTS4 semesters / 120 ECTS
University degreeMaster of Arts (MA)
Admission Requirements
and Curriculum
· A limited number of study places is offered each year.
Interested students will follow an application process.
The most important requirements are a Bachelor´s
Degree (or higher) and profound knowledge of English. 
·  Curriculum
Language of instruction English Proof of language proficiency
Dates and Deadlines· The dates and deadlines change every semester.
· The current deadlines and dates can be found here.
InformationSalzburg Centre of European Union Studies (SCEUS)

Are you already a student at the PLUS and want to take up this study program as well – or switch?
Here you will find the services for PLUS students.

If you still need help or advice after enrolling (registering for a study program), you will find important links here.

Contact office of admissions


© Magadlena Lepka

What will I learn?
The English-taught Masterprogramme European Union Studies is unique in Austria and aims at providing students with profound knowledge of European Union law, politics and economics. qualifications, which are increasingly relevant in today´s labour market. Emphasizing an interdisciplinary approach, the programme tightly links research and practice. In study trips and specialized seminars it provides direct insights into the daily work of EU-institutions, the possibility to meet practitioners, as well as to engage in negotiating current issues in simulations and moot courts. An international educational environment and attractive possibilities to study abroad further strengthen international qualifications.

Foto: © Magadlena Lepka

What makes Salzburg so special as a place to study?
The University of Salzburg is the only University in Austria with a focus area specialising in EU- studies and offering a corresponding studies programme. A specialised curriculum, innovative didactic methods as well as an excellent student-teacher-ratio ensure the best support throughout the whole programme. The SCEUS also puts great emphasis on enriching its various offers to students by organizing regular events, like the Austrian-Russian Summerschool, inviting experts from practice and academia as guest lecturers, or possibilities to gain additional experience at partner universities. Located in a historic building in the heart of Salzburg, the SCEUS offers a great ambience as well as excellent conditions in an interesting and diverse study programme. The international fame of Salzburg, attracting people from all over the world, is also reflected by SCEUS´ research and teaching. People with different educational and cultural backgrounds from across the world come together at SCEUS to study and to carry out research together. 

Foto: © SCEUS

Which career opportunities do I have?
The public as well as the private sector are highly influenced by European decision-making. Actors – including businesses, interest groups and civil society organizations – are required to position themselves within the constantly changing framework of the EU. European Union Studies provides the necessary competences for this dynamic field. It complements Bachelor programmes in the social, cultural and natural sciences. The relevance of this study programme is underlined by the high number of international students. Graduates find their field of employment in the public sector (parliaments, public administration, EU-Institutions, UN) as well as in companies, national and international organizations etc.

Contact

Photo: Az. Prof. Dr. Günter Herzig

Az. Prof. Dr. Günter Herzig
Head of the curriculum committee of SCEUS

Edmundsburg Mönchsberg 2, 5020 Salzburg

Tel.: +43 662 8044-7600
E-Mail:

Photographs: © Magadlena Lepka (1&2) I © SCEUS (3) I © Günter Herzig (4)

EUROPEAN UNION STUDIES, MASTERSTUDIUM

 Jetzt zum Studium anmelden


Dauer / ECTS4 Semester / 120 ECTS
Akademischer Grad Master of Arts (MA)
Fakultät Kultur- und Gesellschaftswissenschaftliche Fakultät 
Fachbereich Salzburg Centre of European Union Studies (SCEUS)
StudienartVollzeit
Studienkennzahl809
Voraussetzung Bachelorstudium oder gleichwertiger Abschluss, sehr gute
Englischkenntnisse; Die Anzahl der jährlich zugelassenen
Studierenden ist begrenzt, Studienplätze  werden per
Aufnahmeverfahren vergeben.
Unterrichtssprache Englisch  Sprachnachweise

Was lerne ich?

Ziel des englischsprachigen Masterstudiums European Union Studies ist eine Ausbildung der Studierenden zu EU-Expertinnen und -Experten. Das in Österreich einzigartige Programm vermittelt umfassende Kenntnisse in den Bereich Europarecht, Politik der Europäischen Union und Ökonomie – Qualifikationen, die mit zunehmender Arbeitsmarktrelevanz. Das Masterstudium ist interdisziplinär ausgerichtet und hat einen starken Praxisbezug. Exkursionen und Spezialseminare bieten Einblicke in die tägliche Arbeit der EU-Institutionen und die Möglichkeit Fachleute zu treffen, sowie selbst in Simulationen und Moot Courts Verhandlungspositionen auszuarbeiten und zu argumentieren. Ein Internationales Studienumfeld sowie attraktive Angebote für Auslandsaufenthalte fördern zusätzlich die internationale Kompetenz.


Welche Berufsbilder gibt es für mich?

Sowohl der öffentliche als auch der private Sektor sind heute stark von europäischen Entscheidungen bestimmt. Deren Akteure – etwa Betriebe, Interessengruppen und die weitere Zivilgesellschaft – müssen ihre Positionen stets unter Berücksichtigung der europäische Ebene und ihrer sich ständig weiterentwickelnden Rahmenbedingungen durchsetzen. European Union Studies liefert die dafür nötigen Kompetenzen. Es bietet eine wichtige Ergänzung von BA-Studien der Sozial-, Geistes- und Naturwissenschaften. Die große Nachfrage internationaler Studierender unterstreicht die Arbeitsmarktrelevanz des Studiums. Absolventinnen und Absolventen eröffnen sich verschiedene Berufsfelder sowohl im öffentlichen Bereich (Parlamente, öffentliche Verwaltung, EU-Institutionen bis zur UNO) als auch in Unternehmen, nationalen und internationale Organisationen etc.


Warum soll ich in Salzburg studieren?

Die Universität Salzburg ist österreichweit die einzige Universität mit einem den EU-Studies gewidmeten Schwerpunkt und entsprechend ausgerichtetem Studiengang. Ein spezialisiertes Curriculum, innovative Didaktik sowie ein ausgezeichnetes Betreuungsverhältnis unterstützen sie dabei. Überdies legt das SCEUS großen Wert darauf, durch Zusatzangebote das vielfältige Angebot für die Studierenden zu erweitern. Dazu zählen unter anderem regelmäßig stattfindende Veranstaltungen wie die Österreichisch-Russische Sommerschule sowie Gastvorträge renommierter Expertinnen und Experten aus Praxis und Akademia sowie Möglichkeiten, zusätzliche Erfahrungen an Partneruniversitäten zu sammeln. In einem historischen Gebäude im Herzen der Stadt gelegen, bietet das SCEUS ein besonderes Ambiente sowie exzellente Rahmenbedingungen in einem inhaltlich breit gefächerten und abwechslungsreichen Programm. Auch Salzburgs internationaler Charakter spiegelt sich in Wissenschaft und Lehre des SCEUS wider. Hier treffen Menschen verschiedenster Hintergründe aus aller Welt zusammen, um gemeinsam zu lernen und zu forschen.


Wie ist das Studium aufgebaut?

Masterstudium European Union Studies
Introduction to the Politics of the EU9 ECTS
European Law6 ECTS
Economics and History of EU-Integration9 ECTS
Terminology and Basics6 ECTS
Interdisciplinary Consolidation24 ECTS
Practical Seminars12 ECTS
Research Design and Thesis6 ECTS
Case Studies on EU-Law and Politics12 ECTS
Methodology advanced6 ECTS
Free Elective Courses6 ECTS
Master Thesis20 ECTS
Master Exam4 ECTS
Summe120 ECTS

Ansprechperson

MMag. Dr. Doris Wydra

MMag. Dr. Doris Wydra
Executive Director des SCEUS

Edmundsburg Mönchsberg 2, 5020 Salzburg
Tel.: +43 662 8044-7600
Fax: +43 662 8044-0001
E-Mail: sceus@sbg.ac.at