SCIENCE AND TECHNOLOGY OF MATERIALS, MASTER STUDY PROGRAM


 Apply now
Course Duration / ECTS4 semesters / 120 ECTS
University degreeMaster of Science (MSc)
Admission Requirements
and Curriculum
· To be admitted to the Masters Degree Science and Technology
of Materials, applicants must have completed a study course
in Science or Engineering in anaccredited  tertiary institution.
In addition an eligibility test has to be passed.
·  Curriculum
Language of instruction German Proof of language proficiency
Dates and Deadlines· The dates and deadlines change every semester.
· The current deadlines and dates can be found here.
Information on the department
and departmental student representatives
Department of Chemistry and Physics of Material

Are you already a student at the PLUS and want to take up this study program as well – or switch?
Here you will find the services for PLUS students.

If you still need help or advice after enrolling (registering for a study program), you will find important links here.

Contact office of admissions


Photo: Lab

What will I learn?
Innovations in science, technology and medicine, including their translation into industrial applications, call for novel materials whose performance capabilities require unprecedented material concepts. The MSc degree course in Science and Technology of Materials is an interdisciplinary joint study offered by the University of Salzburg (PLUS) and the Technical University of Munich (TUM). This Masters course focusses on the production, the characterization and the knowledge-based development of structural and functional materials in the laboratory and the nature. The importance of material cycles and resource efficiencies shall be conveyed and solutions to the ensuing challenges for science and technology shall be developed in an interdisciplinary way.

Photo: Faculty of Natural and Life Sciences University Salzburg

What makes Salzburg so special as a place to study?
The Masters program at the University of Salzburg offers a unique learning environment with an excellent student-teacher ratio. This is  ideally suited to help students gain an excellent understanding of theory and experiments. The interdisciplinary team of lecturers offers a large amount of practical and research oriented laboratory courses, which gives students important time in the laboratory to gain hands on experience in the use of modern instruments and analytical methods. The city of Salzburg is a hotspot of cultural activity with the surrounding mountains and lakes presenting  many opportunities  for sport and nature lovers, making it a unique environment to study and live.

Photo: Lab

Which career opportunities do I have?
The interdisciplinary nature of the Masters course Science and Technology of Materials gives graduates a broad spectrum of possible careers, ranging from working within the field of Materials Science/Engineering to working in Service Industries and Management. Exemplary Career directions could be in: • chemical industry and construction engineering • medical engineering and diagnostics • energy and environment • electronics • automotive and aviation industry • academic research and development.

Postgraduate degree:
Natural Sciences at the Faculty of Natural Sciences
Technical Sciences at the Faculty of Natural Sciences


Contact

Photo: Simone Pokrant

Univ.-Prof. Dr. Simone Pokrant
Head of the curriculum committee Engineering, CPM and STM

Jakob-Haringer-Strasse 2a, 5020 Salzburg
Tel.: +43 662 8044-6281
Fax: +43 662 8044-6289
E-Mail:

Photographs: © Luigi Caputo (1-4)

SCIENCE AND TECHNOLOGY OF MATERIALS, MASTER STUDY PROGRAM


Jetzt zum Studium anmelden
Dauer / ECTS4 Semester / 120 ECTS
Akademischer GradMaster of Science (MSc)
Zulassungsvoraussetzungen und
Curriculum (Studienplan)
· Voraussetzung für die Zulassung zum Joint-Degree Masterstudiengang
Science and Technology of Materials ist der Abschluss eines
facheinschlägigen Bachelorstudiums oder eines gleichwertigen
Studiums an einer anerkannten inländischen oder ausländischen
postsekundären Bildungseinrichtung und die erfolgreiche
Absolvierung eines Eignungsverfahrens.
·  Curriculum
Unterrichtssprache Deutsch Sprachnachweise
Fristen und Termine· Die Fristen bzw. die Termine ändern sich jedes Semester.
· Die aktuellen Fristen und Termine finden Sie hier.
Infos aus dem Fachbereich sowie
Studienrichtungsvertretung
Fachbereich Chemie und Physik der Materialien

Sie sind bereits Student*in der PLUS und wollen dieses Studium zusätzlich aufnehmen – oder wechseln?
Hier finden Sie die Services für Studierende der PLUS.

Wenn Sie nach der Inskription (Anmeldung zum Studium) noch Hilfe bzw. Beratung benötigen, finden Sie hier wichtige Links.

Kontakt zur Studienabteilung


Foto: Labor

Was lerne ich?
Innovationen in Wissenschaft, Technik und Medizin sowie ihre industrielle Nutzung verlangen nach neuartigen Werkstoffen, deren Leistungsspektrum sich von bisherigen Materialkonzepten abhebt. Das Joint-Degree Master-Studium Science & Technology of Materials wird gemeinsam von der Paris Lodron Universität Salzburg (PLUS) und der Technischen Universität München (TUM) angeboten. Das Studium ist interdisziplinär angelegt und hat die Herstellung, Charakterisierung und wissensbasierte Weiterentwicklung von Struktur- und Funktionsmaterialien in Labor und Natur zum zentralen Thema. Dabei soll auch die Bedeutung von Stoffkreisläufen und Ressourceneffizienzen vermittelt, sowie Lösungsansätze der daraus resultierenden natur- und ingenieurwissenschaftlichen Herausforderungen behandelt werden.

Foto: Natur- und Lebenswissenschaftlichen Fakultät

Was macht Salzburg als Studienort so besonders?
Das Masterstudium an der Universität Salzburg bietet eine einzigartige Lernumgebung, in der das ausgewogene Verhältnis zwischen Studierenden und einem interdisziplinären Team von Dozentinnen und Dozenten einen bestmöglichen Kompetenzerwerb in Theorie und Experiment ermöglicht. Ein hoher Anteil an praktischen und forschungsgeleiteten Übungen ermöglicht den Studierenden wesentliche Erfahrungen zur Arbeit in Labors und im Gebrauch von modernsten wissenschaftlichen Geräten und Analysenmethoden zu sammeln. Darüber hinaus hat im Bereich von Kultur und Natur die Stadt Salzburg und ihre Umgebung Einzigartiges zum Leben und Studieren zu bieten. 

Foto: Labor

Welche Berufsbilder gibt es für mich?
Nach Abschluss des Joint-Degree Studiums Science and Technology of Materials steht den AbsolventInnen ein besonders breites Spektrum an beruflichen Möglichkeiten offen. Typische Berufsfelder sind Tätigkeiten in der Chemischen Industrie und im Bauwesen, in der Bio- und Medizintechnik, in der Energie- und Umwelttechnik, in Branchen der Elektro- und Elektronikindustrie, in der Fahrzeug- und Flugzeugindustrie, in der Forschung an Hochschulen und an außeruniversitären wissenschaftlichen Instituten.

Ansprechperson

Foto: © Simone Pokrant

Univ.-Prof. Dr. Simone Pokrant
Vorsitzende der Curricularkommission Ingenieurwissenschaften, CPM und STM

Jakob-Haringer-Strasse 2a, 5020 Salzburg
Tel.: +43 662 8044-6281
Fax: +43 662 8044-6289
E-Mail:

Fotos: © Luigi Caputo (1-4)