Welcome to the University Council webpage!

Auf dem Foto sind alle Mitglieder des Universitätsrates abgebildet
(f.l.t.r.) Elisabeth Rech-Preisinger, Barbara Blaha, Georg Lienbacher, Brigitta Zöchling-Jud Johannes Hörl, Helmut J. Schmidt, Wolfgang Anzengruber | Foto: © Scheinast


Session dates:

  • 20.02.2023


University Council Rules of Procedure

 Rules of Procedure (german version)


University Council Duties

The University Council is a supportive and forward-thinking supervisory body of the University, made up of members who cannot be otherwise associated with the PLUS. This is to ensure an independent and unbiased external monitoring of the University and its institutions. The University Council is responsible in particular for the preparation of the Development Plan, the Organisational Plan and the performance agreement, as well as for the issuing the rules of procedure for the Rectorate; the election and dismissal of the rector and the vice-rectors; for the management of the University’s financial affairs by means of approval and consent reservations and for general legal and economic supervision combined with reporting duties to the Federal Ministry for Education, Science and Research.


University Council Members

The University Council consists of seven members, who shall be past or present holders of responsible positions, especially in academic, cultural or business life, and whose exceptional knowledge and experience are such as to enable them to contribute to the attainment of the objectives and the fulfilment of the duties of the university. Members of the federal or provincial governments, the National Council, the Federal Council or any other popular representative body, and officers of political parties or persons who have exercised such functions within the past four years shall be excluded from membership of the University of Salzburg’s University Council. Three members were selected by the Senate (Blaha, Schmidt, Lienbacher) and three members were appointed by the federal government on the proposal of the federal minister (Hörl, Rech-Preisinger, Zöchling-Jud). The seventh member was appointed by mutual agreement of the six other University Council members (Anzengruber). The University Council began its work on 9 March 2018 and will end its term on 28 February 2023.

Chairperson: Univ.-Prof. Dr. Georg Lienbacher
Vice Chairperson: Univ.-Prof.in Dr.in Brigitta Zöchling-Jud

All Members:
Dipl.-Ing. Wolfgang Anzengruber, former Chairman of the Board of Verbund AG

Mag.a Barbara Blaha, Head of the Momentum Institut, Vienna

Mag. Dr. Johannes Hörl, CEO of GROHAG AG

Univ.-Prof. Dr. Georg Lienbacher, Professor of Public Law, Vienna University of Economics and Business, Member of the Austrian Constitutional Court

Dr. in Elisabeth Rech-Preisinger, Attorney at Law in Vienna

Prof. Dr. rer. nat. Helmut J. Schmidt, former President of the University of Kaiserslautern, Germany

Univ.-Prof.in Dr.in Brigitta Zöchling-Jud, Professor of Civil Law, University of Vienna


Photo of Lisa-Sophie Sönser

Lisa-Sophie Sönser
Office of the University Council

Kapitelgasse 4-6, 5020

Tel.: +43 662 8044 2389

Photographs: © Scheinast (1) | © Andrea Lazar (2)