Dekoratives Element: aufgeschlagene Bücher

The Derra de Moroda Dance Archives are both, a dance archive and a specialized library for dance studies. They can be traced back to dancer, choreographer, dance educator and dance publisher Friderica Derra de Moroda (1897–1978), who bequeathed her internationally renowned private dance library to the Department of Musicology at the University of Salzburg in 1975 (which is now the Department of Musicology and Dance Studies). It encompasses over 7,000 books on dance and related subjects, such as theatre, costume and set design, fashion, folklore and cultural studies, spanning six centuries from the 16th to the 21st one. It also includes rare music materials (including original scores from the 17th century), libretti, autographs of letters from dancers and choreographers, journals and magazines, an extensive collection of iconographic sources (16th to 20th century, comprised of paintings, engravings, etchings, litographs, and photographs), posters, programs and newspaper clippings. Digital media (videos, DVDs, digital publications) and selected personal correspondence from the Derra de Moroda estate, including sketches and manuscripts of her writings, notes, files and over 1,000 letters, round off the archives’ vast collections.

The Derra de Moroda Dance Archives are located in the library at the Unipark Nonntal (University of Salzburg, Unipark Nonntal, Erzabt-Klotz-Straße 1, 5020 Salzburg, phone: +43 (0)662 8044 ext. 4923; e-mail: ).

During the summer break, the archives will not be open continuously due to vacation.

Opening hours in September: September 4, 6, 11, 14, 12-4 p.m. each day

September 18, 12-7 p.m.

September 19, 12-8 p.m.

September 20, 10-4 p.m.

September 25, 12-4 p.m.

September 27, 12-4 p.m.

Please consult the university’s library pages for information on how to use the libraries and its services.
For further information regarding holdings and projects, please vist the  Homepage of the Derra de Moroda Dance Archives and/or contact curator Dr. Irene Brandenburg.