Young Investigators Award

Preisverleihung bei der Night of Excellence

Young Investigators Award 2022 v.l.n.r.: Vizerektorin Nicola Hüsing, Helen Ngonidzashe Serere, Ann-Kathrin Koppmann, Tobias Frauenlob, Karin Klieber, Sebastian Zeng, Christina Fuchs, Vizerektor Martin Weichbold, Jana Pflaeging, Michael Christian Leitner, Eugen Unterberger, Dániel Kovács, Verena-Maria Niedrist, Rektor Hendrik Lehnert, Gudrun Becker, Mason A. Wirtz.

Fotos: © Kay Müller

Results 2022


1st place: Ann-Kathrin Koopmann, MSc
Title of the thesis: Porous Materials Made of Polyphenolic Tannin
Supervisor: Univ-Prof. Dr. Nicola Hüsing

2nd place: Tobias Frauenlob, MSc
Title of the thesis: Modulation of innate immune responses to H. pylori
Supervisor: Univ.-Prof. Dr. Jutta Horejs-Hoeck

3rd place: Dipl. Ing. (FH), Dr. phil., Dr. rer.nat. Michael Christian Leitner
Title of the thesis: Eye Tracking Perimetry and Virtual Reality Rehabilitation:Evolution and evaluation of diagnostics and intervention for patients suffering from visual field de-fects
Supervisor: Mag. Dr. Stefan Hawelka

Finalist: Mohamed Ameen
Title of the thesis: The interaction between information processing and memory consolidation during sleep
Supervisor: Ass. Prof. Dr. Kerstin Hoedlmoser

Finalist: Dr.rer.nat. Anne Laura Argentin
Title of the thesis: Simulation of landslide-dammed lakes from topographic data
Supervisor: Assoz. Prof. Priv.-Doz. Mag. Dr. Jörg Robl

Finalist: Isabel Josephin Hoppe, MSc
Title of the thesis: A three-part journey through the world of proteins: Biochemical characterisation of a collagenase from Bacillus cereus strain Q1, development of a fluorescent enzyme cascade for the sensitive detection of protein modifications, and the recombinant expression and in vitro folding of MHC class II
Supervisor: Univ.-Prof. Dipl.-Phys. Dr. Johann Brandstetter

Finalist: Ellie Neige
Title of the thesis: Light induced charge separation in barium titanate nanoparticles
Supervisor: Univ.-Prof. Dr. Oliver Diwald



1st place: Dr. Karin Klieber 
Title of the thesis: Macroeconomic forecasting in the post-covid era
Supervisor: Univ.-Prof. Dr. Florian Huber

2nd place: Mag. Christina Fuchs, MSc
Title of the thesis: Human-technology interaction and its effects on organizational structures
Supervisor: Univ.-Prof. Dr. Astrid Reichel

3rd place: Dr. Verena-Maria Niedrist
Title of the thesis: Selbstbestimmung bis hin zum Lebensende in Alten- und Pflegeheimen in Bezug auf Medikation
Supervisor: Univ.-Prof. Dr. Reinhard Klaushofer



1st place: Dr. Jana Pflaeging
Title of the thesis: Genre Development in Science Journalism: A Multimodal Discourse Analysis of the National Geographic Feature Article. 1915 – 1965 – 2015
Supervisor: Univ.-Prof. Dr. Hartmut Stöckl

2nd place: Mason A. Wirtz 
Title of the thesis: Sociolinguistic competence in adult second language acquisition. Dynamics of linguistic, socioaffective and cognitive factors in sociolinguistic development
Supervisor: Univ.-Prof. Dr. Andrea Ender

3rd place: Eugen Unterberger, MA
Title of the thesis: Lassen sich Spracheinstellungen im Deutschunterricht verändern? Eine Interventionsstudie im Land Salzburg
Supervisor: Univ.-Prof. Dr. Andrea Ender

Finalist: Mag. Eva-Maria Kubin, BA
Title of the thesis: Performing Reproductive Rights in (Non)Theatrical Spaces: Contraception, Abortion and Performance in Ireland and the United Kingdom, 1970-2020
Supervisor: Univ.-Prof. Dr. Sabine Coelsch-Foisner

Finalist: Dr. Christoph Straub 
Title of the thesis: Cinematic Sovereignty: A Trans-Indigenous Study of Indigenous Women in Contemporary Indigenous Film
Supervisor: Univ.-Prof. Dr. Ralph J. Poole



1st place: Ingrid Vukusic, MSc, MEd
Title of the thesis: Effective resolution of Diophantine problems related to S-unit equations
Supervisor: Assoz. Prof. Dipl.-Ing. Dr. Volker Ziegler 

2nd place: Helen Ngonidzashe Serere
Title of the thesis: Improving the analysis of geosocial media data to support real time decision makingand trend monitoring across various domains.
Supervisor: Assoz. Prof. Dr. Bernd Resch

2nd place: Sebastian Zeng, MSc
Title of the thesis: Neural Time Series Forecasting Considering the Analysis of Structure Properties
Supervisor: Univ.-Prof. Dipl.-Ing. Dr. Roland Kwitt



1st place: Dr. Gudrun Becker
Title of the thesis: Responsivität als Haltung gegenüber fremden Religionen Eine responsive Haltungstheologie der Religionen im Anschluss an Nostra aetate
Supervisor: Univ.-Prof. DDr. Franz Gmainer-Pranzl

2nd place: Dr. Elisabeth Höftberger
Title of the thesis: Dynamisierung kirchlicher Tradition jenseits von Bruch und Kontinuität. Eine fundamentaltheologische Theo-rie der Rezeption und Hermeneutik des Zweiten Vatikanischen Konzils im Kontext der Israeltheologie und des jüdisch-christlichen Dialogs
Supervisor: Univ.-Prof. Dr. Gregor Maria Hoff

3rd place: Mag. Sophia Omokanye, BA
Title of the thesis: Religion, Identities, and Migration. The shaping of migration aspirations and decisions by religious practices, narratives and identity constructions of Global Nigerian Pentecostal networks
Supervisor: Univ.-Prof. DDr. Franz Gmainer-Pranzl



1st place: Dániel Kovács, MSc
Steps to a new and fully developed framework model of stress and motivation: The Job Demands-Resource-(Dis)stress-Motivation Model 2.0
Supervisor: Univ.-Prof. Dr. Eva Traut-Mattausch

2nd place: Chiara Annika Jutzi, MSc
Title of the thesis: Super Threats in the Brain, Mind and Space
Supervisor: Univ.-Prof. Dr. Eva Jonas

3rd place: Mag. Victoria Reitter, MA
Title of the thesis: Über die Produktion von Staatenlosigkeit in staatlichen Behörden
Supervisor: Univ.-Prof. Kyoko Shinozaki, PhD