Literary and Cultural Studies / German Studies MA


 Apply now Graphic
Course Duration/ ECTS 4 semesters / 120 ECTS
University degree Master of Arts (MA)
Admission Requirementsand Curriculum

· A BA degree in a related field (i.e. a BA, diploma or BEd in literary and/or cultural studies or a philological course).
 · Curriculum

Language of instruction German  Proof of language proficiency
Dates and Deadlines

· The dates and deadlines change every semester.
· The current deadlines and dates can be found here.

Information on the departmentand departmental student representatives Department of German Studies
   
Photo: old books

What will I learn?
The Master’s course in Literary and Cultural Studies, which was first introduced at the University of Salzburg in the winter semester 2016/2017, aims at taking a closer look on the diversity of regional, national and transnational literary and cultural phenomena from the unified perspective of theories and methods combining all philologies. In the general interdisciplinary module as well as in the specialization module (English and American Studies, German Studies, Classical Philology, Comparative Literature, Romance Studies, Slavonic Studies), cultural processes are analysed and critically evaluated regarding their historical genesis. In addition, texts and text fragments are analysed with a view to literatures of other epochs and their cultures.

Photo: Unipark Nonntal, Salzburg

What makes Salzburg so special as a place to study?
The Master’s programme at the Department of German Studies is characterised by an outstanding mentoring situation and offers excellent education. We focus on combining current research and teaching, while striving for a strong practical orientation at the same time, for example, via the cooperation with cultural institutions in Salzburg, a city of world-class cultural history.

Photo: Stefan Zweig Centre Salzburg and staff

Which career opportunities do I have?
The MA degree course in Literary and Cultural Studies with a specialization in German Studies qualifies students to work in public and private educational institutions, in the cultural and media sector and in research and teaching. Graduates are able to work in the following job fields: literary mediation, publishing, press and public relations, online and print media, libraries and archives, theatres and museums, exhibition planning and organisation, art and culture management, research and science in the university and non-university sector, advertising, translation and language mediation, tourism.

Postgraduate degree:
Doctoral Programme at the Faculty of Cultural and Social Sciences


Contact

Photo: Team Icon

DR. PHIL. UTA DEGNER
Department of German Studies

Erzabt-Klotz-Straße 1, 5020 Salzburg
Tel.: +43 662 8044-4364
E-Mail:

Photographs: © Luigi Caputo (1-3)

Literatur- und Kulturwissenschaft Schwerpunkt Germanistik, Masterstudium



 Jetzt zum Studium anmelden Grafik
Dauer / ECTS 4 Semester / 120 ECTS
Akademischer Grad Master of Arts (MA)
Zulassungsvoraussetzungen und
Curriculum (Studienplan)
·  Abgeschlossenes facheinschlägiges, d.h.literaturwissenschaftliches oder
philologisches Studium (BA, Diplom oder Lehramt).

·   Curriculum

Unterrichtssprache Deutsch  Sprachnachweise
Fristen und Termine · Die Fristen bzw. die Termine ändern sich jedes Semester.
· Die aktuellen Fristen und Termine finden Sie hier.
Infos aus dem Fachbereich sowie
Studienrichtungsvertretung

Fachbereich Slawistik

   

Sie sind bereits Student*in der PLUS und wollen dieses Studium zusätzlich aufnehmen – oder wechseln?
Hier finden Sie die Services für Studierende der PLUS.

Wenn Sie nach der Inskription (Anmeldung zum Studium) noch Hilfe bzw. Beratung benötigen, finden Sie hier wichtige Links.

Kontakt zur Studienabteilung


 

Foto: alte Bücher

Was lerne ich?
Das seit WS 2016/17 an der Universität Salzburg neu eingerichtete Masterstudium Literatur- und Kulturwissenschaft beleuchtet die Vielfalt regionaler, nationaler und transnationaler literarischer und kultureller Phänomene aus der einheitlichen Perspektive von Theorien und Methoden, die alle Philologien miteinander verbinden. In einem allgemeinen fächerübergreifenden Teil sowie im selbst gewählten Schwerpunktfach (Anglistik und Amerikanistik, Germanistik, Klassische Philologie, Komparatistik, Romanistik oder Slawistik) werden kulturelle Prozesse hinsichtlich ihrer historischen Genese analysiert und kritisch bewertet sowie Texte mit Blick auf Literaturen anderer Epochen und Kulturkreise untersucht.

Foto: Unipark Nonntal, Salzburg

Was macht Salzburg als Studienort so besonders?
Das Studium am Fachbereich Germanistik zeichnet sich durch eine hervorragende Betreuungssituation aus und bietet ausgezeichnete Lehre. Wir legen viel Wert auf eine enge Verknüpfung von aktueller Forschung und Lehre und streben gleichzeitig eine starke Praxisorientierung an, z.B. durch Kooperation mit kulturellen Einrichtungen in Salzburg, einer Stadt von kulturhistorischem Weltrang.

Foto: Stefan Zweig Zentrum & Mitarbeiter*in

Welche Berufsbilder gibt es für mich?
Die Studieninhalte bereiten auf Tätigkeiten in öffentlichen und privaten Bildungsinstitutionen, im Kultur- und Mediensektor sowie in Forschung und Lehre vor. Berufsfelder, die den Absolventinnen und Absolventen offenstehen, sind z.B. Literaturvermittlung, Verlagswesen, Presse- und Öffentlichkeitsarbeit, Online- und Printmedien, Bibliotheken und Archive, Theater und Museen, Ausstellungsplanung und -organisation, Kunst- und Kulturmanagement, Forschung und Wissenschaft im universitären und außeruniversitären Bereich, Werbebranche, Übersetzungswesen und Sprachvermittlung, Tourismus.

Weiterführendes Doktoratsstudium:
Philosophie an der Kultur- und Gesellschaftswissenschaftlichen Fakultät


Ansprechperson

Foto: Team Icon

Dr.phil. Uta Degner
Fachbereich Germanistik

Erzabt-Klotz-Straße 1, 5020 Salzburg
Tel.: +43 662 8044-4364
E-Mail:

Fotos: © Luigi Caputo (1-3)