University governance

The University Council, the Rectorate, the Rector and the Senate are the governing bodies of the University.

Eingang Rektorat

The University Council

The University Council (see § 21 UG 2002) – the supervisory board of the university – has, inter alia, the task of electing a Rector and approving the draft performance agreement between the University and the Federal Ministry. It also appoints the Vice Rectors based on a proposal made by the Rector. In addition, the University Council approves the University’s development and organisation plan. Members are appointed for a term of five years. The University Council of the PLUS has seven members.

The Rectorate

The Rectorate governs the University and acts as its external representative (see. § 22 UG 2002). The Rectorate currently has four members who are appointed for a term of five years.

In addition to the tasks of being a member of the collegial body, the Rector must perform his own duties as a monocratic body (see § 23 UG 2002).

The Senate

The Senate of the PLUS has 26 members: thirteen professors, six representatives of mid-level teaching staff, a representative of the general staff, and six students. The primary tasks of the Senate include approving amendments of the University Statute and Development and Organisation Plan; shortlisting three candidates for the election of the University’s Rector and participating in the appointment procedures for associate and university professors (see § 25 UG 2002). The term of office is three years.

Photograph: ©️ Kay Müller (Photo), Miam Miam (Editing)