Dependence Modeling – PLUS

The team Dependence Modeling deals with random quantities and the multidimensional associations and dependencies that occur between these quantities; the range of applications is therefore extremely diverse.The group focuses on basic research concerning the evaluation, estimation, comparison and construction of such dependencies as well as its application to feature selection problems arising whenever multivariate data is available (finance, manufacturing industry, etc.).

 

Postdoc-Position: Sebastian Fuchs

Bild S. Fuchs © Nils Eisfeld

Dr. Sebastian Fuchs is Senior Scientist at the Department for Mathematics at PLUS. He mainly works on topics in dependence modeling, quantitative risk management and nonparametric statistics with particular interest in financial and actuarial applications.

 >> Home

 

Predoc-Position: Marco Tschimpke (ProSA)

M. TschimpkeMarco Tschimpke MSc completed his Bachelor’s and Master’s degree in mathematics at PLUS and focused on the field of probability theory and statistics. He is currently working on his PhD within a project with AMAG (ProSA project) and focuses on dependence modeling/detection and pattern recognition.

>> Email

 

Predoc-Position: Nicolas Dietrich

Bild N. DietrichNicolas Dietrich MSc schloss sowohl das Bachelor- als auch das Masterstudium in Mathematik an der PLUS ab. In seiner Masterarbeit beschäftigte er sich mit der Existenz von Lösungen für partielle Differentialgleichungen. Mittlerweile promoviert er im Bereich Abhängigkeitsmodellierung und Mustererkennung und befasst sich mit dem Konvergenzverhalten von Copulae.

>> Email

 

Predoc-Position: Florian Griessenberger

Bild F. GriessenbergerQuantification of dependence is an old problem in statistics. In his dissertation, Florian Griessenberger works on copula-based quantification of dependence between random vectors X and Y with focus on the development of a non-parametric dependence measure. In particular, he is interested in the development of an appropriate estimator, its implementation in the open-source software R as well as the study on mathematical properties.

> Email

 

Student-Assistant: Lea Maislinger (FRIDA)

Bild L. MaislingerLea Maislinger is a master student in Mathematics and is currently working on an optimization problem in the context of timeseries in collaboration with Porsche Informatik (Project FRIDA)

>> Email

 

 

Student-Assistant: Anna-Lena Graf (FRIDA)

Bild AL GrafAnna-Lena Graf BSc completed her Bachelor’s degree in mathematics at the PLUS and is now pursuing her Master’s degrees in mathematics and data science. She is currently working on her master thesis within a project with Porsche (FRIDA project), focusing on pattern recognition and optimization.

>> Email

 

 

Student-Assistant: Melanie Löckinger

Bild M. LöckingerMelanie Löckinger absolviert derzeit das Masterstudium Data Science an der PLUS. Sie ist Projektmitarbeiterin im Team von Wolfgang Trutschnig (Direktor IDA Lab).

>> Email

Dependence Modeling – PLUS

Das Team Dependence Modeling beschäftigt sich mit zufälligen Größen und den zwischen diesen Größen auftretenden mehrdimensionalen Zusammenhängen und Abhängigkeiten und konzentriert sich dabei insbesondere auf die Bewertung, die Schätzung, den Vergleich und die Konstruktion solcher Abhängigkeiten. Die Anwendungen sind daher äußerst vielfältig und beinhalten unter anderem Fragestellungen aus dem Bereich der Variablenselektion (Feature Selection), die unweigerlich im Zusammenhang mit multivariaten Daten auftreten (Finanzwesen, verarbeitendes Gewerbe, etc.).

 

Stellenauschreibung: Doktorand*in / 3 Jahre

FWF-Projekt ReDim: Quantifizierung von Abhängigkeiten via Dimensionsreduktion, Projektleitung:  Sebastian Fuchs

 

Postdoc-Position: Sebastian Fuchs

Bild S. Fuchs © Nils Eisfeld

Dr. Sebastian Fuchs ist Senior Scientist am Fachbereich Artificial Intelligence & Human Interfaces an der PLUS. Er arbeitet hauptsächlich an Themen in den Bereichen Abhängigkeitsmodellierung, quantitatives Risikomanagement und nichtparametrische Statistik mit besonderem Interesse an finanzmathematischen und versicherungsmathematischen Anwendungen.

 >> Home

 

Predoc-Position: Marco Tschimpke (ProSA)

M. TschimpkeMarco Tschimpke MSc absolvierte das Bachelor- und Masterstudium Mathematik an der PLUS und spezialisierte sich im Zuge seiner Masterarbeit im Bereich Wahrscheinlichkeitstheorie und Statistik. Aktuell arbeitet er in Kooperation mit der AMAG (ProSA Projekt) an seinem Doktorat im Bereich Abhängigkeitsmodellierung und Mustererkennung.

>> Email

 

Predoc-Position: Nicolas Dietrich

Bild N. DietrichNicolas Dietrich MSc schloss sowohl das Bachelor- als auch das Masterstudium in Mathematik an der PLUS ab. In seiner Masterarbeit beschäftigte er sich mit der Existenz von Lösungen für partielle Differentialgleichungen. Mittlerweile promoviert er im Bereich Abhängigkeitsmodellierung und Mustererkennung und befasst sich mit dem Konvergenzverhalten von Copulae.

>> Email

 

Student-Assistant: Anna-Lena Graf (FRIDA)

Bild AL GrafAnna-Lena Graf BSc schloss das Bachelorstudium Mathematik an der PLUS ab und absolviert derzeit das Doppelmasterstudium Mathematik und Data-Sciene. Sie ist aktuell Projektmitarbeiterin und arbeitet in Kooperation mit Porsche (FRIDA Projekt) an ihrer Masterarbeit im Bereich Mustererkennung und Optimierung durch statistische Analyseverfahren.

>> Email