Biostatistics & Big Medical Data – PMULogo PMU

The team Biostatistics & Big Medical Data combines statistical and data science know-how in the areas of clinical and preclinical experimental design, bioinformatics and big medical data. It supports data-driven biostatistical and biomedical consulting and research, development of medical and health products and services, implementation of evidence-based medicine as well as personalisation of medicin and pharmaceutics.

 

Postdoc-Position: Georg Zimmermann

Bild G. Zimmermann

Dr. Georg Zimmermann is leading the Team Biostatistics and Big Medical Data at Paracelsus Medical University Salzburg. For several years, he has been doing research on various methodological and biostatistical topics (e.g., small samples, evidence-based medicine). He also has much experience in working together with clinicians and other subject-matter experts from the Life Sciences (e.g., neuroscience, dermatology) in applied interdisciplinary projects, both at the national and at the international level. His main task within the IDA Lab are to foster methodologically oriented cooperations with Paracelsus Medical University / University Hospital Salzburg, to initiate collaborative projects with other institutions in the Salzburg area (especially with PLUS), and to establish joint projects at the international level.

 >> Home

 

Predoc-Position: Konstantin Thiel (EBStatMax)

Bild K. Thiel

Konstantin Thiel MSc studied Data Science in Salzburg, specializing in statistics and similarity search in databases. In his Master’s thesis, he developed clustering algorithms for very large datasets in collaboration with Celonis SE. In addition to his studies, he already gained extensive work experience in software development and data analysis at Bosch Austria. He has also been active in teaching and database research. Moreover, he holds a Bachelor’s degree in Environmental Management from BOKU Vienna and enjoys interdisciplinary work in diverse teams. He is currently working in the EBStatMax project and completing his PhD studies in nonparametric statistics.

>> Email

 

Master Student: Martin Geroldinger (EBStatMax, BeSt Covid19)

Bild M. Geroldinger

Martin Geroldinger studies mathematics and completes his master thesis in the fields of probability theory, statistics and data science. He is currently participating in the projects „EBStatMax“ and „BeSt Covid19“.

>> Email

Biostatistics & Big Medical Data – PMULogo PMU

Das Team Biostatistics & Big Medical Data bündelt Know-How aus Statistik und Data Science in den Bereichen klinischer und präklinischer Studienplanung, Bioinformatik und Big Medical Data. Es unterstützt die datengetriebene biostatistische und biomedizinische Beratung und Forschung, die Entwicklung von Medizin- und Gesundheitsprodukten und -dienstleistungen, die Umsetzung evidenzbasierter Medizin sowie die Bereitstellung von personalisierter Medizin und Pharmazie.

 

Postdoc-Position: Georg Zimmermann

Bild G. Zimmermann

Dr. Georg Zimmermann leitet das Team Biostatistics and Big Medical Data an der Paracelsus Medizinischen Privatuniversität Salzburg. Er kann auf einige Jahre Forschungstätigkeit zu verschiedenen methodischen und biostatistischen Themen (z.B. kleine Fallzahlen, evidenzbasierte Medizin) zurückblicken. Außerdem hat er umfassende Erfahrung in der Zusammenarbeit mit Klinikern und Spezialisten aus den Life Sciences (z.B. Neuroscience, Dermatologie) im Rahmen von interdisziplinären, anwendungsorentierten, nationalen wie internationalen Projekten gesammelt. Dr. Zimmermanns Hauptaufgabe im IDA Lab besteht darin, methodologisch orientierte Kooperationen mit der Paracelsus Medizinischen Privatuniversität Salzburg bzw. dem Universitätsklinikum Salzburg zu fördern und zu intensivieren, institutions-übergreifende Projekte am Standort Salzburg (v.a. mit der PLUS) voranzutreiben, und gemeinsame Projekte auf internationaler Ebene zu etablieren.

 >> Home

 

Predoc-Position: Konstantin Thiel (EBStatMax)

Bild K. Thiel

Konstantin Thiel MSc hat Data Science in Salzburg studiert und sich dabei auf die Themen Statistik und Ähnlichkeitssuche in Datenbanken spezialisiert. In seiner Masterarbeit hat er in Zusammenarbeit mit Celonis SE Clusteringalgorithmen für sehr große Datensätze entwickelt. Neben seinem Studium hat Konstantin bereits umfangreiche Arbeitserfahrung in der Softwarentwicklung und Datenanalyse bei Bosch Österreich gewonnen. Darüber hinaus war er in der Lehre und in der Datenbankforschung aktiv. Er hat außerdem einen Bachelorabschluss in Umweltmanagement an der BOKU Wien und genießt interdisziplinäres Arbeiten in vielfältigen Teams. Derzeit arbeitet im  EBStatMax Projekt und absolviert sein PhD Studium im Bereich der nichtparametrischen Statistik.

>> Email

 

Master Student: Martin Geroldinger (EBStatMax, BeSt Covid19)

Bild M. Geroldinger

Martin Geroldinger studiert Mathematik und absolviert seine Masterarbeit im Bereich Wahrscheinlichkeitstheorie, Statistik und Data Science. Er arbeitet aktuell in den Projekten „EBStatMax“ und  „BeSt Covid19“ mit.

>> Email