(Co-)Supervision of students

Master theses:

  • Florian Blaha, BSc, Production and purification of monoclonal antibodies against diclofenac and its metabolites and their use in diclofenac hypersensitivity research, 2007
  • Monika Gimpl, BSc, Development of antibody-based assays for detection of diclofenac-haptenized components in human blood, 2008
  • Markus Steiner, BSc, Establishment of basophil activation test for NSAIDs hypersensitivity, 2010-2011
  • Cornelia Waschl, BSc, Development of physico-chemical characterization methods for allergen vaccine candidates, 2012-2013
  • Mirjam Zimmermann, BSc, Interactions of charged gold nanoparticles with immune cells – implications for binding and uptake mechanisms, 2014
  • Marlene Sageder, BSc, Immune effects of allergen-nanoparticle conjugates – a study in monocytic and macrophage-like cell models, 2015-2016
  • Bettina Grotz, BSc, Time-resolved uptake of protein – nanoparticle conjugates in lung epithelial A549 and macrophage-like THP-1 cells, 2015-2016
  • Marlene Grill, BSc, Lipidomics approaches for elucidating the involvement of CD1d in B cell lymphoma, 2016-2017
  • Stephanie Schlichtner, BSc, Lipids and metabolic pathways in chronic lymphocytic leukemia, 2018-2019
  • Aryunni Abu Bakar, BSc, Investigating T cell specificity and tumor support in chronic lymphocytic leukemia, 2019
  • Ingrid Hasenkopf, BSc, Alignment of in silico protein corona modeling studies with experimental analysis, 2020-2021
  • Benjamin Punz, BSc, Preclinical safety and functional assessment of allergen-nanoparticle conjugates, 2021-2022
  • Alrun Waldl, BEd, Synthesis and functional testing of antimicrobial nanomaterials for surface applications, 2022-2023
  • Magdalena Weiß, BSc, Establishment of the NAVETTA in vitro epithelial cell aerosol exposure chamber for environmental, workplace, and pharmaceutical safety testing, 2022-ongoing

PhD theses:

  • Andrea Harrer, MSc, Mechanistic investigation of systemic hypersensitivity caused by the nonsteroidal anti-inflammatory drug diclofenac, 2006-2009
  • Markus Steiner, MSc, Human basophils – novel aspects beyond the allergic effector role, 2012-2015
  • Paul Schlinkert, MSc, Cellular responses to silver and gold nanoparticle functionalization-mediated surface charge and determination of early stage protein corona formation, 2012-2014
  • Linda Stöhr, MSc, Analyzing biological effects of airborne nanoparticles – current approaches and novel strategies for on-site assessment using cell-based exposure systems, 2012-2014
  • Isabella Radauer-Preiml, MSc, Investigating nanomaterial safety: Novel reporter cell lines and effects of bystander substances, 2012-2015
  • Robert Mills-Goodlet, MSc, Bio-nano interactions at the molecular and cellular level: application of non-covalent allergen-silica NP conjugates as model, 2016-2021
  • Litty Johnson, MSc, Nanoparticles as adjuvants for allergen-specific immunotherapy: impact on allergen processing and presentation, 2018-2022
  • Benjamin Punz, MSc, Smart applications of antimicrobial nanomaterials for surface coating, 2022-ongoing

Secundant of PhD students in the FWF-sponsored Doctorate School Immunity in Cancer and Allergy, ICA:

  • Yoan Machado, MSc
  • Almedina Kurtaj, MSc

International guest students:

  • Joefina Zakzuk, MD, Universita de Cartagena, Columbia
  • Yoan Machado, MSc, Centro Inmunologia Molecular, Havanna, Cuba
  • Elfriede Töpfer, MSc, Centro Nationale della Ricerca, Napoli, Italia
  • James Gavigan, MSc, Centro Nationale della Ricerca, Napoli, Italia
  • Mariusz Madej, MSc, Avanti Cell Science, Aire, UK
  • Gergo Sipos, MSc, Avanti Cell Science, Aire, UK
  • Galber Rodriguez Araujo, PhD, Federal University of Uberlandia, Brasil
  • Ben Swartzwelter, MSc, Centro Nationale della Ricerca, Napoli, Italia
  • Alexandra Fux, MSc, Miltenyi Biotech, Bergisch-Gladbach, Germany
  • Cristiane Casonato Melo, MSc, Miltenyi Biotech, Bergisch-Gladbach, Germany

Opponent/evaluator of PhD students:

  • Heidi Hofer, MSc
  • Almedina Kurtaj, MSc
  • Abdul Shah, MSc
  • Anargyros Roulias, MSc
  • Olivia McKenna, MSc
  • Isabel Pablos Ocampo, MSc
  • Stephanie Eichhorn, MSc
  • Theresa Stemeseder, MSc
  • Martin Wolf, MSc
  • Elfi Töpfer, MSc
  • Thomas Hengstl, MSc
  • Sabrina Wildner, MSc
  • Samuel K Laereng, MSc, University of Pretoria, South Africa
  • Wai Tuck Soh, MSc
  • Sara Huber, MSc
  • Andi Aljagic, MSc
  • Ben Swartzwelter, MSc
  • Alessandro Verde, MSc,University of Campania L. Vanvitelli, Naples, Italy
  • Sara Michelini, MSc